Wednesday, February 22, 2006

The list

The twelve cardinal-electors:

Archbishop William Joseph Levada, prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith.

Archbishop Franc Rode C.M., prefect of the Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life.

Archbishop Agostino Vallini, prefect of the Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signatura.

Archbishop Jorge Liberato Urosa Savino of Caracas, Venezuela.

Archbishop Gaudencio B. Rosales of Manila, Philippines.

Archbishop Jean-Pierre Ricard of Bordeaux, France.

Archbishop Antonio Canizares Llovera of Toledo, Spain.

Archbishop Nicholas Cheong Jin-suk of Seoul, Korea.

Archbishop Sean Patrick O'Malley O.F.M. Cap., of Boston, U.S.A.

Archbishop Stanislaw Dziwisz of Krakow, Poland.

Archbishop Carlo Caffarra of Bologna, Italy.

Bishop Joseph Zen Ze-kiun S.D.B. of Hong Kong, China

The three cardinals over the age of 80:

Archbishop Andrea Cordero Lanza di Montezemolo, archpriest of the Basilica of St. Paul's Outside-the-Walls.

Archbishop Peter Poreku Dery, emeritus of Tamale, Ghana.

Fr. Albert Vanhoye S.J., formerly rector of the Pontifical Biblical Institute and secretary of the Pontifical Biblical Commission.

The details of the consistory:

In closing, the Holy Father expressed his intention to preside at a concelebration with the new Cardinals on the day following the concistory, March 25 and Solemnity of the Annunciation. "For that occasion I will invite all members of the College of Cardinals, with whom I also intend to hold a meeting of reflection and prayer on March 23," the day prior to the concistory.

From Vatican Information Service.

No comments: